Devarayana Durga, Tumkur

About Devarayana Durga Information-Tumkur

Tumkur, Devarayandurga: The curved, uneven and narrow road, about 15 km from Tumkur city, with fabulous greenery around brings you to the foot of a hill Devarayana Durga, also known as DD hills. Devarayana Durga is a rocky hill station situated in the midst of picturesque scenery at an altitude of 3940 feet. One has to pay at the toll gate at the foot of the hill to precede the upward journey which gives a fantastic experience amidst the forest terrain. The ghat section for a stretch of 4-5 kms, takes you to the top of this legendary hill.

The place was originally known as Anebiddasari (in Kannada this name means "the place where the elephant fell"), then renamed as Jadakana Durga after a chief named Jadaka. Finally, after its capture by Mysore king Chikka Devaraja Wodeyaras, this place was named as "Devarayana Durga". Devarayana Durga has many temples of which two temples one at the foot of the hill and the other at the top are famous. Sri Bhoga Narasimha Swami temple is at the base of the hill and Sri Yoga Narasimha Swami temple is on top of the hill. After crossing the ghat section, one can park the vehicle in the parking lot provided on the top of the hill and then take steps to the temple.

Lakshmi Narasimha Swami Temple: There is also a Lakshmi Narasimha Swami Temple, facing east, near Devarayana Durga. The architecture of the temple reminds you of the Dravidian style. Records have it that the temple was constructed during the reign of Kanthirava Narasaraja I. According to the inscriptions found, the enclosure and tower of the temple were repaired in 1858 by the Mysore king Krishnaraja Wodeyar III. Sanjivaraya Temple, a temple dedicated to Lord Hanuman, who stands with folded hands can also be seen on this hill. This temple is said to be older than the Lakshmi Narasimha temple. Higher up above is a small shrine of Garuda.

Near by on the Devarayana Durga hills you can also see two springs known as "Ane done" and "Jaya tirtha", which form the source of the streams Mangali and Jaya. These unite at Irukasandra to form Jayamangali River at the foothill. These hills are the source of the river Shimsha. Somewhere in the mid elevation of these hills, there are two other springs known as Rama-tirtha, Dhanus-tirtha and a large cave nearby with figures of Rama, Sita and Lakshmana, said to be existing from the time of Ramayana.

There are three sacred ponds or Kalyani here known as Narasimha-teertha, Parasara-teertha and Pada-teertha.

Tumkur Religious places

Visited Devarayana Durga? Review it
Devarayana Durga Queries and User Comments


Your Name
Your Email 
Back to TOP